The Ultimate Q&A: Gurminder Singh of Qwerkee

The Ultimate Q&A: Gurminder Singh, Founder, Qwerkee

Qwerkee Founder Gurminder Singh
Gurminder Singh, Founder, Qwerkee

Designed in Canada, QWERKEE is a streetwear brand that offers gender neutral clothing to customers worldwide! Just like the name, the brand is unusual in an attractive and interesting way. They offer one-of-a-kind designs for one-of-a-kind people like you! 

We connected with Gurminder Singh, founder of Qwerkee, to learn more about the local brand he intends to take Global.

Tell us a little about yourself… your family, your home, your career or business!

I moved from the United Kingdom to Canada in 2017. I am married with two children. I have a background in Product Design and always had a dream of owning my own business. I’ve always loved art, fashion and design. I launched a clothing brand called Qwerkee (pronounced quirky) this year which offers gender-neutral clothing for adults and kids with quirky designs.

What is the main thing you spend your time on right now?

Spending time with my wife and kids, designing products and building my company.

The Ultimate Q&A: Gurminder Singh of Qwerkee Streetwear
Qwerkee designs

How did your business come about?

I have been passionate about art since a young age. I’ve always loved to draw cartoons. I then went on to get a Bachelor of Design (with honors) in the UK. I have always been into fashion and design and wanted to start my own business. I decided to finally start a business doing something I love that brings joy to others as well.

What do you feel most grateful for in your life?

My family

What do you find most challenging about what you do?

Brand awareness – getting my brand out there.  Being a new e-commerce company there is a lot of competition and “noise” on social media to get a big breakthrough so people hear about your brand.

What have been your biggest obstacles in life, and how did you overcome them?

Being told from a young age by teachers that I would amount to nothing. I proved them all wrong by going to college and university and graduating with a Bachelor of Design (with honors) and taking a big risk moving to Canada to pursue my dreams.

What is a typical day like for you?

Work on Qwerkee such as checking emails, fulfilling orders, posting on social media, designing and PR. I cook and clean and spend time with my family.

Who have been your strongest influences in life?

My Grandfather because he immigrated from India to England with nothing and built an empire and left behind a legacy. I want to follow in his footsteps in business.

What are you most proud of accomplishing?

Starting my own business because of all the steps I took to get here, with my Bachelor of Design, moving to Canada, and investing a lot of time, funds and hard work to make my business a success.

How would friends and acquaintances describe you?

Funny, generous, reliable, respectful, caring, driven, nice and polite!

What might others be surprised to know about you?

That I have struggled.

How has your life been different than what you’d imagined?

Right now I feel like I am at the beginning of what I’ve imagined, which is a successful business.

What is your favourite thing to do with your family or friends?

Spending quality time doing activities such as shopping, restaurants, playing, golfing and watching movies.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Qwerkee being a global success

What would you do differently if you had a chance?

Nothing, no regrets

Share something about yourself that you are working on to improve.

Working out for my physical health

 

Learn more about Qwerkee and order online:

www.qwerkee.com 

Instagram @qwerkeeclothing

 

Related: The Ultimate Q&A with Angela Saxena, LAV & KUSH

Related: ReVillaging: A Conversation to Reimagine Work-Life Balance

 

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

Our Current Issue

WestCoast Families Summer 2021 issue staycation yoga suv family friendly birding kids

2020 Family Travel & Adventure Guide

2020-2021 Baby Guide

Family Resource Guide

Save